Kevin Dorrell, CCIE #20765

15 May 2008

Runts and Overruns

Filed under: General, LAN Switching — dorreke @ 00:00

I am still in a state of euphoria about finally getting my digits after close on four years working on it.  I can hardly believe it.  I keep thinking “#20765” and grinning!

I’ve not blogged for a few days, but that does not mean I have given up.  I have been involved in a couple of interesting conversations on NetPro and DISCUSSiT, so I am going to  lay down a couple of hyperlinks here so as not to lose track of the thread.

The first is entitled “Runts and Overruns“.  To me, “runts and overruns” sounds an alarm bell called “duplex mismatch”.  Duplex mismatch must be the most Frequently Asked Question on NetPro.  One day I shall get round to posting a page about the duplex mismatch issue so I can just point to it rather than re-writing it each time.

What makes this case slightly different is that the OP has set 100/full on both switches.  But when I ask him to confirm that he has a straight crossed-cable (Is that a contradiction?) between the switches he says “As far as we know it is a point to point link (we don’t manage it) there may be some repeaters in it though.”

I don’t have a vast amount of experience with metropolitan Ethernet service providers, but for my money there is likely to be something half-duplex in this link.  Is that normal?  Do service providers normally supply half-duplex or full-duplex links?  Or do they expect you to auto-negotiate?  I am watching for the outcome of this one to put in my experience bank.

It may be due to something completely different of course, but that would still be interesting.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

