Kevin Dorrell, CCIE #20765

01 Mar 2008

Wendell Odom’s CCIE R&S Certification Guide

Filed under: BGP, General, IP Routing Protocols — dorreke @ 20:04

Took my 15-year-old to his Blues School (guitar club) in Differdange.  It wasn’t worth driving all the way home again and then all the way back to collect him, so I sat in the car for a couple of hours reading Wendell Odom’s CCIE Cert Guide.  What a great book it is!  When I was doing my CCNA back in 1999 I wasn’t such a fan of his CCNA Cert Guide.  But the CCIE book is one of the most relevant, pithy, and challenging books I have on my bookshelf.  No doubt the CCNA guide has also improved in the intervening 8 years.

I have the second edition of the CCIE book.  Every time I dip into the book it comes up with a new way of looking at something I thought I knew.  Today’s subjects were:

  • Default routes and the various ways to introduce them into RIP, EIGRP, OSPF (pages 345 – 251) and BGP (pages 381 – 382).  It goes into the differences in behavior between the different protocols with the different techniques.  For example, whether the default route must already be in the table for default-information originate to work.  (RIP: yes, but not if static; OSPF: yes, unless you have keyword always; EIGRP: not supported; BGP: yes for global version of the command, no for neighbor specific command)
      
  • QoS MQC for marking.  I didn’t realise that a class-map can have multiple match lines for the same attribute.  For example, you could accidentally have match cos 3 and match cos 5 in the same match-all class definition, which would match nothing at all.  That’s a good gotcha!
     
  • BGP Route Reflectors (pages 404 – 409).  I hadn’t appreciated the rules about what happens when you have some RR clients and some non-RR clients on the same hub, and more importantly, why.  The answer is that all routes are reflected except non-RR-client to non-RR-client.  For the why, you’ll have to read the book.  Suddenly the concept of cluster-ids became crystal clear. 

[Warning! Off Topic! Warning!] 

Next week, he wants me to go into the Blues School with him, which would mean I would miss all that reading.  Or am I just afraid of revealing how rusty my guitar technique really is?

Talking of guitars, isn’t Andy McKee incredible?  I was lucky enough to see him in concert here in Luxembourg a few weeks ago, and he really can play this stuff:

Amazing!  There are so many great guitarists around at the moment that I don’t know who gets my vote for the best guitarist in the world today: Andy McKee, Antoine Dufour, or Don Ross.

I also wanted to see if I could embed a YouTube clip in my blog.  Seems I can.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

